

Room 359, University College
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, MB R3T 2M8
Telephone: (204) 474-6606
Fax: (204) 474-7645
Email:James.Fergusson@ad.umanitoba.ca
www.dafoefoundation.ca

The 2017 J.W. Dafoe Book Prize

Press Release, Shortlist, March 14, 2017

Board of Directors

Mr. Keith Findlay, Chair Dr. David Barnard Mr. Jim Carr Mr. John W. Dafoe Dr. Emöke Szathmáry Prof. D.T. Anderson, Q.C., Vice-Chair Ms. Catherine Auld Ms. Margo Goodhand Mrs. Helen Norrie

Honorary Secretary

Dr. James Fergusson

Five submissions are shortlisted for \$10,000 John W. Dafoe Book Prize

Five books drawn from across Canada made the shortlist for the 2012 John W. Dafoe Book Prize from an excellent field of 47 entries.

John Boyko, Cold Fire: Kennedy's Northern Front. Toronto: Knopf Canada.

Asa McKercher, Camelot and Canada. Carey, North Carolina: Oxford University Press.

Adam Lajeunesse, *Lock, Stock, and Icebergs: A History of Canada's Arctic Maritime Sovereignty.* Vancouver: University of British Columbia Press.

Sandra Martin, A Good Death. Toronto: Harper Collins.

Robert Wright, Trudeaumania: The Rise to Power of Pierre Elliott Trudeau. Toronto: Harper Collins.

The winner will be named later in the spring and collect the award at the J.W. Dafoe Foundation's Annual Book Prize Dinner in May.

The book prize memorializes John Wesley Dafoe, one of the most significant Canadian editors of the 20th century. It is one of the richest book awards for non-fiction excellence about Canada, Canadians and the Canadian nation in international affairs. In his tenure at the Manitoba Free Press, later renamed the Winnipeg Free Press, from 1901-1944, Dafoe was known for his advocacy of western development, free trade, and national independence. His case for adoption by Britain of the Statute of Westminster in 1931 advanced the severance of formal ties with Empire and created the eight dominions, which became the nucleus of the present 54-nation Commonwealth.

The Foundation's activities also supports \$10,000 in fellowships for MA students pursuing studies in international relations, politics, economics or history, at the University of Manitoba and a number of colloquia on Canada in international affairs. For questions or further information contact: Dr. James Fergusson, Honorary Secretary (see above).